Carry on…

i happen to see a funeral procession pass by my home one day…and a few lines stuck in my head…


I see you sitting stoically by

Your hands as they linger lovingly

On the face of a shell

That held the one you held most dear

I see your eyes glistening

As you try to hold back your tears

And as your eyes meet mine

I’m shaken by the grief I behold

Yet even then I know that

As the last rose is thrown down

And your ivory hands clenched so tight

You’ll live on with your steely strength

And quiet dignity

In the memory

Of all that you have lost…

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

