Amina


Amina was dead. Amina with her twinkling brown eyes, soft smile and gentle ways, was dead.

Killed by my brother to save the family’s honor when she tried to run away with the neighbor’s son Khalid.

Abba clapped Afsal, my oldest brother on his shoulder. I did not understand why my sister had to die. I remember Abba preaching that good Muslims did not kill unless the cause was holy. What is unholy about loving someone and wanting to be someone’s wife. Amina had to marry someday. Why couldn’t it be to someone she knew and loved.

My thoughts have been muddled ever since Afsal rushed into the house this morning and furiously told Abba that Amina had dishonored the family by running away with Khalid but Afsal had caught them with his friends. Abba had turned so silent then he told Afsal to save the family’s honor.

Afsal returned with the police in handcuffs. Abba embraced him and said he was proud of him.

I’m standing with my family in the veranda after the police took Afsal away . I watch Abba’s stern profile as he sees his once beloved daughter’s belongings being hauled out to be burnt with her body in the morning. I wonder at the difference in Abba’s thoughts. Amina was his favorite as I was my mother’s. there was never a moment when Amina was not by his side-laughing, talking, fetching things for him. Amina the child he loved the most. The same child he had killed by sending his son, when she had fallen in love with someone his honor wouldn’t approve of.

I nod and give a last look at my sister’s things before I walk into the room I shared with Amina just the night before.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by moondustwriter on June 9, 2010 - 2:57 AM

    Nicely written. Alot of sorrow on these pages. I know writing helps i hope it’s not the true condition of your heart.

    thanks for visiting my site

    • #2 by hoiden on June 10, 2010 - 2:03 AM

      thanks for reading:)
      not exactly…most of my poems are based on people around me and what i’v read…but there are a few abt me…thank u:)

  2. #3 by suzicate on June 15, 2010 - 2:48 AM

    Wow, heartbreaking, so full of emotion. I felt like I was right there. Very eloquently and tenderly written.

  3. #5 by Amit Khanna on June 15, 2010 - 9:29 AM

    Thats one moving write up! Is it true! I am from India and same happens at times there. Thanks for visiting my page.

    • #6 by hoiden on June 16, 2010 - 1:22 AM

      yes…i’m from india too…i happened to read a lot such killings in the papers…its really horrible and sad
      thank u for reading:)

  4. #7 by Jingle on June 16, 2010 - 3:21 AM

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/thursday-poets-rally-week-22-poetry-awards-more/

    I give you three poetry awards,
    plus 4 others in this post.
    thank you for the outstanding contribution!
    Cheers!

    week 23 post will be tomorrow.

    • #8 by hoiden on June 16, 2010 - 1:50 PM

      thank you…but what do i do now?????i’m a newbie plz help…

    • #9 by hoiden on June 17, 2010 - 2:18 AM

      thank u so much:)

  5. #10 by nanno1982 on June 18, 2010 - 11:42 PM

    Many of the cruel crimes are committed based on Saving the Honor.. I believe that Honor is much higher and holy than those pretending to be holy crimes.

    Great story telling.. thank you for sharing.

    • #11 by hoiden on June 19, 2010 - 1:35 AM

      i completely agree…thank u for reading:)

  6. #12 by themotivationlocation on June 23, 2010 - 10:50 PM

    How sad. This should make us all realize how lucky we have it that we do not have to live in this kind of fear.

    • #13 by hoiden on June 24, 2010 - 1:31 AM

      Amen to that..thank u for reading:)

Leave a Reply

