Rest

The waves crashed against the cliff

The wind whipped her long black hair

Reminiscing about the ages she lived thro

As she stood waiting

For the golden rays of the sun…

So many centuries…so many identities…I thought about my life as it was since the beginning…Flashes of it came to the fore…

An attendant in the court of King John, fleeing with the Romanovs during the Russian revolution, Watching the beheading of Queen Marie Antoinette, Watched the first play of Shakespeare come alive, the American revolution, paid a visit to Dr. Livingstone in Africa, been the wife of the Caliph of Persia and the mother of another, witnessed the sufferings of soldiers as a military nurse in WWII, paid homage at the passing of Mahatma Gandhi… it was a long list

I was tired. Tired of constantly moving from place to place changing my identity. Tired of constantly having to look over my shoulder. I was tired of watching the farce of human evolution. I was ready to let go and sleep.

My only regret was… Nikolai…But I guess it is for the best. If he knew how much I loved him, he would never let me go. And he deserved someone better than the world weary Queen of the damned.

The waves were already tinged pink at the horizon. I could feel my skin burning even now. Gritting my teeth, I watched my first sunrise in over a millennia.

And there she stood

Frozen for a second in time

Till the wind blew her ashes

Into the sea

Hidden in the shadows of the trees, Nikolai watched the beatific smile that lit up her face before her body turned to dust. “I will always love you…Sleep well Zoya”

Dust thou art And to dust thou returnest

-Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kavita on July 19, 2010 - 9:13 PM

    WHOA !! Some cool imagery there…
    A very interesting read.

    • #2 by hoiden on July 20, 2010 - 1:19 AM

      thanks kavitha…eclipse fever has struck me too:)

  2. #3 by buttercup600 on July 19, 2010 - 11:45 PM

    Whoohooo…Such creative imagery and so happy to see your talent shine!! Rock on girlfriend ~ Hugs x

    • #4 by hoiden on July 20, 2010 - 1:19 AM

      thanks a lot amanda…:):):):)cheers

  3. #5 by fiveloaf on July 20, 2010 - 4:04 AM

    great work and thank you hoiden for my short story? nomination.. 🙂 i dont deserve it really cos i only do poems..

    • #6 by hoiden on July 20, 2010 - 8:15 AM

      hehe oops…but tats ok coz ur poems do tell stories rgt???

  4. #7 by Jamie Dedes on July 20, 2010 - 6:31 AM

    Truely splendid. I enjoyed it very much. A treat . . . such a fancy. Thank you, Hoiden!

  5. #9 by deadpoet88 on July 20, 2010 - 6:54 AM

    Beautiful, simply beautiful. Was a wonderful read. The words flow so well, such lovely imagery. Great piece!

  6. #11 by jadepaloma on July 20, 2010 - 7:36 AM

    Now this is my kind of read… Have you read Andrew Davidson’s The Gargoyle? Please do, I won’t reveal more at this point as to the why’s. But judging by your style and imagery – I am positive you will love the book. I did 😉
    Big thumbs-up for the post!

    • #12 by hoiden on July 20, 2010 - 8:06 AM

      sure will check it out:):) thanks a bunch:)

Leave a Reply

